Homemade Buttermilk Crepes Recipe

As per my last post, I made some yoghurt-based cream cheese today after a batch of my yoghurt didn’t set fully. This involved straining the yoghurt through some paper towel. At the end of this process I had a paper towel full of creamy yoghurt ‘curds’, and just a little over 1 cup of yoghurt ‘juice’, sometimes called ‘whey’ or ‘buttermilk’.

Tonight I made some crepes for dinner, using this juicy byproduct. The result? Potentially the best crepes I have ever made.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

1.5 cups plain flour
1/2 cup wholemeal flour
pinch salt
pinch baking soda
2 eggs
around 1 cup yoghurt ‘whey’ product

Method

Put all ingredients in a mixing bowl and whisk together until as many lumps are removed as possible. You should have quite a thin consistency. Heat a frying pan and lightly spray with some oil – I used canola, sunflower would also be good. Pour 2 large serving-spoon-fuls of the batter into the pan. When batter thickens, bubbles form batter, and the edges begin to raise, flip over to the other side, and cook for another minute or two. When done, transfer to a plate situated in a cool oven, and repeat until all batter is used.

Canaan wanted his sweet, so I served his with a generous drizzle of maple syrup and a big dollop of sour cream (pictured above). I felt like something more savoury (pic here), so I cooked up a couple of eggs and a tin of baked beans. I flavoured the baked beans with some curry powder, ground pepper and ground cumin. I topped the beans with a big dollop of sour cream, and drizzled a little maple over the pancakes for extra moisture 😀

Leave a Reply

