Books

Over at librarything I’ve started up a book challenge for myself – to read 50 books by the end of the year. A bit unrealistic, but here is what I’ve read so far:

1. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
2. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? – Phillip K. Dick
3. Wide Sargasso Sea – Jean Rhys
4. Giovanni’s Room – James Baldwin
5. In the Skin of a Lion – Michael Ondaatje
6. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje
7. Paradise – Abdulrazak Gurnah
8. Gilgamesh – Joan London
9. Careless – Deborah Robertson
10. Milk and Honey – Elizabeth Jolly

Now I’m reading:

11. The Well – Elizabeth Jolley (about 2/3 way through)
12. The Music of Dunes – Mike Williams (about 1/4 through)

And on-and-off I’m reading:

White Noise – Don DeLilo (about 1/3 through)
No Direction Home: The Life and Music of Bob Dylan – Robert Shelton (about 1/3 through)
Come In Spinner – Dymphna Cusack (about 1/4 through)

As you can probably see, my taste in books varies. I love post-colonial fiction and Australian fiction, and also really enjoy speculative fiction and some biographies. The theme that tends to tie the books I read together is generally that they’re quite gritty, realistic, confronting, and bare the ugly but profound bits of life.

My last lot of books were mainly chosen for having stickers on the front like ‘Premier’s Book Award’ or ‘National Book Award’. I also often pick books because they have an interesting cover or title.

4 thoughts on “Books

  1. Australian books?

    Ooh, I must read some.

    One of the guys from Delphi Australia is in town this week for work. We’re working with GM Holden to design our steering column and Savio is helping us as an interface between GM and Delphi. I’m glad he had a chance to come to Saginaw and I had a chance to meet him.

    That “No Direction Home” is a good book I’m sure. I saw the PBS documentary, and I loved every minute of it.

    Amy

    PS: I love your new theme. Very clean lines. 🙂

  2. Yeah I’ve seen the doco and thought it was fab too. I haven’t seen the movie they’ve made about him yet, but would love to – have you??? I’ll have to make a note to get it out next time I’m at the video store.

    Glad you like the new theme 😀 I was just playing around in wordpress looking at all the different themes when I clicked on this one, and thought ‘ooh, that actually looks pretty good!’ I think having a black background gives it a different feel too – more ‘me’.

    Work sounds like it’s going well for you!! I’m glad 😀

    P.S. Got any Linux-y news?? Dapper is still going strong for me (on the lappy) but am considering putting Ubuntu Studio on our PC so we can set it up as a recording studio. Know anything about it??

Leave a Reply

