Baking Challenge #1: The Croissant

Welcome to the first installment of my personal weekly baking challenge!

Why a baking challenge, you ask? Well, simply put, I currently suck at baking. I don’t often have the patience, tend to improvise too much, look for too many shortcuts, and generally just burn everything I put in the oven (my recent blueberry muffin attempt being one source of inspiration to change my ways! :P)

At 22 I think it’s time I put in some real effort and learned to bake properly. It’s affordable, yummy (if done right), and fun (if done right), not to mention a good way of spending a Sunday arvo. Plus if you’re good at it, you can potentially bribe people with your awesome baked stuff. 😉

So here goes.

Right this minute I’m in the middle of my first ever attempt at making croissants.

I got the recipe from a book off our shelf – ‘Patisserie’ by Aaron Maree.

I was just about to say ‘looks simple enough’, but I don’t want to jinx my attempt.

I’m determined to find success in making these – a good one seems to cost way too much from our local bakery considering the very basic ingredients involved. And making them in bulk means freezing leftovers – always handy for sleepy weekend brekkies & brunches.

I’ll update this post later tonight with the outcome!

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Baking Challenge #1: The Croissant

  1. Challenge #1 is Croissants?! Wow, bold move.
    We here in The East think that’s kind of like having yr first shot at driving behind the wheel of a McLaren F1 car – at Monaco!

    Good luck, you unbridled optimist!

Leave a Reply

