Homemade Almond Biscotti Recipe

I’ve always wanted to make some biscotti but never really got around to it. Today I decided it was the day! I found a recipe on the Kenwood Chef website that seemed simple and do-able, so I gave it a try using my trusty old 70s machine. It turned out pretty well!

As usual, I altered the recipe somewhat to suit my pantry contents, and the method was also tweaked because of my temperamental oven. I also doubled the recipe because I’m a) greedy and b) too lazy to make more once I’ve devoured the first lot! Here’s the recipe…

Ingredients

50 – 100g whole almonds
100g butter, softened
230g raw sugar
2 eggs
1 – 2 teaspoons liqueur (something citrus-y would be good; I used some kind of nondescript German booze I had on the shelf, which is so ancient the lable is half missing, so I have no idea what I put in .. it just smelled Ok!)
approx 1 teaspoon citrus peel, grated (I had no fresh oranges, so I used some homemade candied orange peel, finely chopped)
350g plain flour
3 – 4 teaspoons baking powder
80g polenta
50 – 100g pistacio nuts (if you have them – I didn’t, but it’d be great with these added)

Method

  1. Put your almonds in an empty frying pan and bring up to a medium-high heat. When the pan is hot shake it frequently to avoid burning. Remove from heat when the almonds are nicely toasted and fragrant – won’t take too long! Chopping almonds is a nightmare, so I alternatively either a) tip them on to a peice of baking paper, bunch them up tightly in the paper, and bang with a meat tenderiser, or b) tip them into an electronic coffee & spice grinder and give it a few buzzes until roughly chopped up – the peices don’t have to be uniform in size!
  2. Preheat oven to 100C.
  3. Put your butter and sugar in a bowl and mix well until creamed.
  4. Beat in the eggs, liqueur, and rind.
  5. Add the flour and baking powder and mix in well to make a soft dough.
  6. Divide the dough up in to four peices. Shape each peice into a sausage about 15cm long. Put on to a greased baking tray (I used olive oil) and flatten out, preserving the sausage-like shape, until it’s about 20-25cm long, 5cm wide, and 2cm high. Repeat with the rest of the mix, leaving a space between each as they spread a little.
  7. Bake for about 30 minutes or until they are just golden on the bottoms and firm to the touch.
  8. Remove from the oven. Slide a thin spatula underneath each ‘sausage’ and transfer to a cooling rack. Allow to rest for about 10 minutes. I used this time to clean up all my mess!!!
  9. Transfer each ‘sausage’ to a plate or chopping board and slice on the diagonal into 2 to 3cm peices. Repeat for all the ‘sausages’.
  10. Return the peices to the baking tray, laying them cut-side down, and leaving a gap between them if possible.
  11. Return to the oven and bake for an additional 30 minutes, or until they are slightly more golden and/or growing quite firm to the touch. A good way of testing them is to take out one and blow on it to cool for a few minutes. Take a bite and if it crunches all the way through it’s probably ready! (because if they’re crunchy when they’re warm, they’ll be very crunchy when they’re cool).
  12. Remove from the oven and transfer to a cooling rack.
  13. Lovely served with milk, coffee and tea.
  14. Store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

